A black woman raped back in 1944 and the town is now saying sorry for the way they handled it..

I have lived down south and the race relations are still bad today in 2012. I can just imagine how bad it was back in 1944. As, I read this story on the MSNBC website I was just plain ashamed of how these folks handled the case. The story by Bob Johnson was well written and needs to be heard. I also read the book about these issues that happened during that time period.  Please if you have the time read the book it is very heartfelt and inspirational on their struggles to get justice for crimes committed on them. I cried when I read the book. You can get from local library or go to Amazon.com to purchase

The Book

At the Dark End of the Street: Black Women, Rape, and Resistance–A New History of the Civil Rights Movement from Rosa Parks to the Rise of Black Power
Danielle L. McGuire (Author)

http://www.amazon.com/At-Dark-End-Street-Resistance/dp/030726906X

The article

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/42198706/ns/us_news-crime_and_courts/#.Tx8KgG9SRg4

Leave a Comment ↓

No comments yet.

Leave a comment